By The Train’s Whistle…

As I lay on the soft, cushion of my pillow,

A blanket wrapped around me,

I breathe steadily as I wait for that moment,

The dazzling shafts of moonlight gaze upon me through the slits in my blinds,

Its light creating mysterious patterns of shadows on my hands,

I breathe and listen.

All is quiet,

But then…a low rumble,

It gathers momentum as quickly as lightning,

I feel the ground shaking beneath me as it prepares to pass,

And then it comes,

The deep whistle, lonely and strong,

Piercing the depths of the solemn night.

In it I lay,

Breathing out,

By the train’s whistle.

Leave a Reply

