Story Snippets #2: Journey to Space

As my fellow astronauts and I boarded the space shuttle, a waft of reality hit me. Stories of people who never made it, cluttered my memory as I cling to the metal ladder. ‘It’s not too late to turn back’ I thought to myself. Glancing down beneath me I caught a glimpse of my family, looking like ants…I barely deciphered the movements of their hands to be waving. A rush of homesickness and nausea engulfed me.

Here I was, not yet begun my journey, and I was having second thoughts. With a newfound determination, I set my jaw and began the tedious process of studying my partners black boots on the rungs above me, as the train of six people slowly inched along. There was no turning back now.

Leave a Reply

