Some days…

img_2375Some days, when you’re everyone’s helping hand,

And your shoulder is the haven of many a tear stained cheek,

And your ear a fertile plot, in which every teller’s sorrows are sowed and planted,

When your hands ache from constantly smoothing the wavy  furrows and webs of worry upon burdened crowns,

Like unfurling tight masts on a vicious, stormy night,

When you welcome them with hugs you will to exude warmth and care at all times,

Even when you feel as if you are searching an empty flask for the final dregs of precious liquid,

the dregs of care and warmth, when all you feel like is collapsing in emotional exhaustion….

Those days are when I need someone to confide in,

To give me the strength and belief in myself to continue,

To find solace within,

To be an ever listening, caring ear,

To ease my mind,

And heart.

And indeed, I find it within the most solitary moments of my night. Before I retire my soul to the most High, I rip it out of its shell, and present it upon the doorstep of His Majesty,

In surrender, humble debasement before Him, in eternal, infinite debt,

Wavering, worn, bruised,

Tired, faltering, tumultuous,

And I rise, forehead lifting up,

Steadied, mended, treated,

Rejuvenated, assured, at peace.

That’s how I know I can make it through, thriving.

أمن ىجىب المضطر اذا دعاه ويكشفُ السوءَ و ىجعَلُكم خلفاء الأَرْض أءِلٰهٌ مع الّله قلىلا ما تَذكَرون

(٢٧: ٦٢)

Or, Who listens to the (soul) distressed when it calls on Him, and Who relieves its suffering, and makes you (mankind) inheritors of the earth? (Can there be another) god besides Allah? Little it is that ye heed!

~ Surah Naml, Ayah 62

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Some days…

Leave a Reply

